October on the middle Rogue River

Large buck Rogue steelhead plucked from the fast water.

Large buck Rogue steelhead plucked from the fast water.

I had to venture a ways out of my confort zone, but the drive was worth it. The middle Rogue offers a lot of new river to learn. This near 30 inch Rogue River steelhead was found in a real soft spot at the side of a big rapid. The reason the photo is dark is because I’m under a bridge. The first fish I hooked out of this spot taught me a few early lessons. I didn’t waste what I had learned when I next hooked this guy. The fly pattern was a Beadhead G.R. Hare’s Ear nymph.

Leave a Reply

