Upper Rogue River Steelhead

I’ve heard some good reports from the Rogue River around Grants Pass. Sizeable steelhead are being caught within the Grants Pass city limits. The steelhead are staging off the spawning Fall chinook. These fish are finally working upstream into the upper Rogue River. I caught this beauty late today above Medford. I was flyfishing a Carpetbagger and Bead-head G.R. Hare’s Ear fly combination with the 11 foot switch rod. Casting to just beyond and behind some spawning salmon I hooked the steelhead in the deeper water. The steelhead took off so hard and fast I though I had hooked a salmon. Chalk that up to that powerful fast water. After several strong runs (with no leaps!), I finally leveraged the steelhead to shore for this quick photo. A bright female of about 27 or 28 inch long.

A bright and fat steelhead from the upper Rogue River. The October fish are arriving.

Leave a Reply

