Mother’s Day Hatch

I know it is not Mother’s Day, but that so called hatch is already here. Was witness to the “Mother’s Day Hatch” yesterday on the Rogue River around mid-afternoon. I was fishing for steelhead when I noticed thick clouds of caddis all about and over the water. I also noticed some larger fish taking the caddis off the surface of the water. I knew I didn’t have a proper caddis pattern except for the large Steelhead Caddis in my fly boxes. Then I remembered a size #12 Adams dryfly that I had just tied the other day. I had tied it because back in March sometimes the BWO dry fly did not produce during the first of the year hatches. The Adams dry fly offers a good range of color with movement. I had once read that the Adams represented a caddis fly. I just had to see what those larger fish were. So I tied it on. The three fish I did hook were all nice cutthroat trout. In the cold, high flow of the Rogue River they surprised me and put on outstanding fights. So much so the best one I horsed a little to make a fast landing and release, and the fly pop out as he neared shore. He would have made a nice photo. Here’s a little information on the Adams dry fly pattern:

Don’s Flies

This June Rogue River cutthroat took an adult salmonfly imitation called the Norm Wood Special.

A nice Rogue River cutthroat trout that I did land.

There is a few of these boys around. Relaxing and courting at the mud flat.

There is a few of these boys around. Relaxing and courting at the mud flat.

Irregular ridges, the sign of a true yellow morel. Morchella esculentoides dweller of the river bottoms.

A few of these guys too. Morchella esculentoides dweller of the river bottoms.

Morels 2013

Leave a Reply

