Pink Silver Salmon Fly

Getting to be coho salmon time on the upper Rogue River. I can feel them coming, and of course there is the report of eleven silver salmon already returning to the hatchery at Cole Rivers on the Rogue River above Trail. It has been a while since I caught one on a fly. I remember that year, it was good, I caught five on Carpetbaggers.

Late November silver salmon buck caught on the Rogue River, Oregon.

Late November silver salmon buck caught on the Rogue River, Oregon.


Late October should see a few arriving. November is the better month. I’ve caught most of my silver salmon by jigging a Carpetbagger Nymph along the bottom during the drift of the fly. Yes, movement is what they like. Sometimes you are lucky enough to see a school swimming. They say pink is a good color, so I’m going to try this fly in addition to the Carpetbaggers for silver salmon this year. I think a fast strip of the fly on the long Spey rod just might work.

Pink Articulated Silver Salmon Fly

Pink Articulated Silver Salmon Fly

Leave a Reply

