Name This Fly – Rogue River Steelhead Report

I love new flies that work. This one, provided to me by “a find in the sticks along the Rogue River”, is steadily proving its worth in the low, clear water of November. I tie a lot of steelhead flies with sparkle, glitter, bead heads and what not. That’s the norm, right? Steelhead don’t seem to mind the glamour? Well this fly’s focus is on the “au naturale” look. It worked well the other day on first a Coho and then a steelhead. I should readily know this as I’ve been a big advocate of the buggy-looking Bead Head G.R. Hare’s Ear Nymph for years.

Here’s the deal: Come up with the original (if there is already one?) or a new name for this fly, and if I like and agree, I will send you a custom tie of it in a size you desire.

The G.R. Hare’s Ear Nymph is a pretty natural looking fly until I add the bead head. That said you also get your choice of the stonefly nymph weighted with a bead head or not.

Leave a Reply

